And I Thought Writing the Novel was Hard

Posted: September 24, 2014 in Writing
Tags: , , ,

IMG_5934-0.JPG
I’ve heard many people – successful writers among them – say that facing that blank page never gets any easier. I’d definitely say some days are easier than others, but a blank page is never a particularly inviting sight.

And yet I managed to write an entire novel (two, actually, but only one that’s readable). I should feel like I can do anything, write anything. After all, getting to 65,000 words took facing down and filling up a lot of blank pages.

But now I have to write the Query Letter. Just one measly page.

So where are all of the query letter writing workshops and boot camps and support groups? Where’s the How to Write a Killer Query Letter for Dummies shelf at my Barnes & Noble?

Because, let me tell you, this blank page ain’t writing itself.

Comments
  1. thenoveilst says:

    What a coincidence or is it, that my two recently published books are also on barnes & noble. Hmm…killer query letter. Well, I had kept mine short, real, relevant, confident, with modesty and business-like, because it’s like applying for a job. That first impression, does count. All the best with it 🙂 Perhaps you can view my two books on my blog home page.

    Like

  2. Facing the blank page is hard as an artist too! 🙂

    Like

  3. Rhodes says:

    I recommend checking out the blog Query Shark, if it’s still up, on Blogspot. If I remember correctly it’s not longer being updated, but you can still see the archives. It was run by an agent who dissected and gave critiques on query letters sent in for that purpose. It should give you an idea of how they’re typically structured and how to make yours better. Good luck to you!

    Like

  4. Elsa Holland says:

    Reblogged this on The Writers Room and commented:
    novel, writers life

    Like

Leave a Reply

