Accepting the 7/7/7 Challenge

Posted: September 2, 2015 in Writing
Tags: , , , ,

IMG_0276

I have been challenged by my good friend, fellow writer and compatriot in the query trenches, B.A. Williamson, to compete in the 7/7/7 Challenge.

The rules of the 7/7/7 Challenge are very simple. You just:

  • Go to page 7 of your work-in-progress
  • Scroll down to line #7
  • Share the next 7 lines of your manuscript in a blog post
  • Tag 7 other writers (with blogs) to continue the challenge.

So I accept. My current WIP (with my daughter), is the middle grade fantasy, THE LAST PRINCESS. And here are my 7 Lines from page 7:

Thomas stood up on his seat and sliced the air with his foam rubber sword. “Hyah! What did he fight?”

“Everything. Giants and trolls and goblins.”

“And ogres?”

“Of course, ogres. Well, one day a giant came knocking on the castle drawbridge, and—”

A child’s scream split the air. Probably a scraped knee or a tantrum. But Thomas gasped and froze, staring at the wall with huge eyes. “It’s the ogre! Hide, Cat!”

And who are the lucky 7 recipients of the 7/7/7 Challenge from me?

  1. Julie Artz @julieartz
  2. S.H. Marr @SH_Marr_Writes
  3. Michelle Hauck @Michelle4Laughs
  4. Beth Overmyer @Bethyo
  5. Kimberly VanderHorst @Kymburleev
  6. Nadine Ducca @NadineDucca
  7. Karen Blacher @KarenBlacher

So there you are, kiddies!  Be sure to check out the blogs of my fellow challengees to see what they post and who they challenge.

Comments
  1. bethovermyer says:

    Arr! I’ll have to pick a work in progress…and wrangle up seven writers. Hmm. I might have a few in mind 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. af10ski says:

    This is fantastic! It amazes me that you can drop into a specific line of the story and have such a vivid moment. Well written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Korbibtor says:

    Thanks John. Will do one for Heaven’s Ant Farm this weekend!

    All The Best,
    James

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] we get into the tag, be sure to check out John’s original post as well! He and his daughter are writing a middle-grade novel together titled THE LAST PRINCESS and […]

    Like

  5. I am glad I found your blog. They are doing this on Facebook right now and I had no idea what it was!!!

    @Kathleen01930
    Blog

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

