How to Begin Writing a Novel

Posted: June 22, 2017 in Writing
Tags: , , , ,

Unstrung Harp

From The Unstrung Harp, or Mr. Earbrass Writes a Novel by Edward Gorey (©1999):

On November 18th of alternate years Mr Earbrass begins writing ‘his new novel.’ Weeks ago he chose its title at random from a list of them he keeps in a little green note-book. It being tea-time of the 17th, he is alarmed not to have thought of a plot to which The Unstrung Harp might apply, but his mind will keep reverting to the last biscuit on the plate.

I’m only one guy, and I’ve never even published a book, but I’m gonna suggest that the best way to begin writing a novel is not this way.  I don’t know.  You do you.

Personally I use a completely different arbitrary and stupid method: I try to come up with the perfect first sentence.  For weeks I have been devoting drive time, shower time, time between hitting the snooze button, and break time to composing the line that will make kids everywhere beg their parents to buy my book.  The problem is I haven’t really developed the plot structure, yet, or even fully established the world where it takes place and all of the rules, so….

The last book I wrote I began by the seat of my pants, and it wasn’t until I was 4-5 chapters in that I was forced to stop and create an outline for the plot structure.  Then when I had finished the book, most of those first chapters got deleted, rewritten, or both.  Very little of that seat-of-the-pants stuff remains.  But it was good exercise and gave me lots of background material that helped flesh out the characters in later drafts.

For the sequel (currently in progress), I already knew most of the characters — certainly the main one — and I started with a complex plot outline before I even thought about writing the first chapter.

With the new book, though … I’m eager to get started and reluctant to build the foundation.  That’s bad, right?

Imma gonna have to get on that outline and background before I go any further, for sure.  But it’s fantastic to feel the enthusiasm and passion again.

Comments
  1. M.L. Keller says:

    I love writing as a pantser. I feel like the characters are in charge and I get to discover who they are, what they want, and what they are willing to do to get it. Still, I’ve spent enought time staring at a blinking cursor to understand the lure of drafting

    Liked by 1 person

    • With my first book, I found I had to outline after a certain point, or I would never get to where I wanted to go. I had to map out the plot. And with the sequel, my idea was way to complex to trust to fate or my flakey characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I start with the title, then jot down a few sentences to get me started. I’m more character driven so my imagination goes wild.

    Like

Leave a Reply

