The Pitch

Twelve-year-old homeschooler, Cat, has royal fae blood and a shot at the crown. But her goblin rival will turn her little brother evil if Cat becomes princess and foils his plans to start a war.


When twelve-year-old Cat Brökkenwier sees ogres and dwarves and goblins walking around on the boardwalk, she fears the meatball has completely rolled off her spaghetti. Especially when one of them sees her back. But a strange old woman on the pier tells Cat she can see the fae because she has some of their blood in her veins. And not just fae blood but royal fae blood, which makes Cat a candidate to become the next Princess of the Fae.

But Cat’s days are already filled with homeschool and Squirrel Scout meetings and a mother who doesn’t approve of fairy tales. Plus, aren’t princesses supposed to be pretty and graceful? How could Cat possibly compete with Bone-Breaker, a goblin prince who everyone seems to adore already? Things get even more sketchy when the nasty boy threatens to turn Cat’s little brother into his next minion unless she backs down. Now Cat must choose between protecting her family by giving up her quest, or fighting for the crown anyway to stop the wanna-be prince from starting a war between the fae and the humans.

Complete at 63,000 words, PRINCESS MATERIAL is a stand-alone middle grade contemporary fantasy with series potential. TV’s Grimm for kids, this book will also appeal to fans of Emily Windsnap or The Sisters Grimm.

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Elaine Kelley says:

    I think being able to write it in conjunction with your daughter is delightful. I think your pitch explained your story clearly. Since I am just finishing my first novel, please realize I’m a beginner. The thing that popped out to me was the repeated “Twelve-year-old”. I think I would take it out of the first paragraph and leave it for the detailed second paragraph.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s